Birkenhead

A Perfect Place to Visit

The first ferry to Liverpool was operated by the monks of Birkenhead Priory which was established in around 1150 and is the oldest standing building on Merseyside. First restored over a century ago the site continues to develop with museums displays. Climb St Mary's Tower, now a memorial to those who lost their lives aboard the submarine Thetis, and experience the magnificent views up, down and across the Mersey to Liverpool.

Birkenhead had some remarkable ‘firsts’. It had the first public park (designed by the same architect as central Park in New York), the first English flats, the first public library and, in 1860, the first tramcars (you can still ride on a restored part of the Birkenhead tramway).

Birkenhead has two tunnels under the River Mersey to Liverpool. The rail tunnel opened in 1886 and was, at that time, the longest underwater railway tunnel in the world. Queensway was the first road tunnel under the river and was completed in1934. For some years in was the longest underwater road tunnel in the world.

The Williamson Art Gallery and Museum was opened in 1928 and houses most of Birkenhead's collection of artistic masterpieces. Permanent displays include Victorian oil paintings, English watercolours, Liverpool porcelain and a range of collections from local history and ship models to fine decorative arts. There is also an all year round programme of temporary exhibitions.

This website provides links or derives its information from third parties. Whilst all information is believed to be correct and is updated on a regular basis, the website owners
or managers cannot accept any responsibility whatsoever for error, omission or accuracy of the site, its contents or links. This website is intended for information purposes only.

go cheshire | Legal | Advertising Terms & Conditions
go cheshire is managed by Getting Here Ltd & created by Designed 2 Use